Daniel H. Farkas, Ph.D. to Receive 2007 Leadership Award From Association for Molecular Pathology

Published: Apr 03, 2007

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich., April 3 /PRNewswire/ -- The Center for Molecular Medicine (CMM) today announced that Executive Director Daniel H. Farkas, Ph.D., has been named the recipient of the 2007 Leadership Award from the Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP).

The AMP was founded in 1995 to provide structure and leadership to the then-emerging field of diagnostic molecular pathology. Each year, the organization honors an AMP member with its Leadership Award, based on that member's accomplishments and notable contributions to the vision and direction of both AMP and the field of diagnostic molecular pathology.

Dr. Farkas was nominated by his peers and ultimately selected by AMP's Nominating Committee and Council as this year's award recipient.

"We are very pleased to recognize Dr. Farkas with our 2007 Leadership Award, the highest honor presented to our members," said AMP president Andrea Ferreira-Gonzalez, Ph.D. "I would like to commend the Nominating Committee on their selection of Dr. Farkas. His insight and dedication have truly advanced our association and the field of molecular pathology."

Dr. Farkas is an internationally respected leader with nearly 20 years of broad-based experience in molecular pathology and diagnostics.

Prior to joining the CMM as its first-ever Executive Director in late 2006, he had established three other hospital-based molecular diagnostics laboratories during his career. These include Saint Barnabas Medical Center in Livingston, N.J.; William Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oak, Mich.; and The Methodist Hospital in Houston. Dr. Farkas has also held faculty positions at Cornell University, Baylor College of Medicine and Michigan State University (adjunct, current).

"It is a high honor to be chosen as the 2007 AMP Leadership Award recipient," said Dr. Farkas. "The things I've done in my career that my peers feel merit this award were done out of passion for the field and a love of AMP. It is gratifying to see the field maturing and moving more each day toward genomic medicine."

As president of AMP in 2003, Dr. Farkas founded the organization's Strategic Planning Committee to provide a roadmap for strategic growth and development. In addition to AMP, Dr. Farkas has been active in many industry associations, including the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, on whose board he now serves, and the College of American Pathologists. He is also a member of the FDA's Clinical and Molecular Genetics Advisory panel.

The AMP Leadership Award is presented each year during the Business and Awards Session of AMP's Annual Meeting. This year's meeting is scheduled for Nov. 7-10, 2007 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles. The Leadership Award is supported by a grant from Abbott Molecular, Inc. Past award recipients include: Jeffrey A. Kant, M.D., Ph.D. (2005) and Mark E. Sobel, M.D., Ph.D. (2006).

About the CMM

The Center for Molecular Medicine, a joint venture between Grand Rapids, Mich.-based Spectrum Health and Van Andel Institute (VAI), brings West Michigan a cutting-edge laboratory that will aid in early diagnoses and enhance personalized medicine. It offers 21st century molecular technologies for investigation of complex diseases like cancer, heart disease, mental illness and other conditions at the DNA, RNA and protein levels. The Center brings new and increased opportunities for diagnostics and pharmaceutical companies to conduct trials in a world-class medical and clinical research environment. For more information, visit http://www.cmmdx.org.

The Center for Molecular Medicine

CONTACT: Don Hunt, dhunt@lambert-edwards.com, or Rebecca Howe, both ofLambert, Edwards & Associates, +1-616-233-0500, for The Center forMolecular Medicine

Back to news