Endovascular Institute Release: Third Endovascular Summit Attracts Cardiovascular Surgery Pioneer Denton A. Cooley, M.D.

FREDERICK, Md., May 27 /PRNewswire/ -- The Endovascular Institute in Frederick, MD announces today that the distinguished pioneer in cardiovascular surgery, Dr. Denton A. Cooley, has joined the faculty for the third annual Endovascular Summit, "An Interactive Course in Managing Complex Carotid Artery and other Peripheral Vascular Interventions," to be held in Jackson Hole, Wyoming Aug. 3-4. Cooley will present on "Evaluation of Surgical Treatment of Aortic Aneurysms and Carotid Disease." This Continuing Medical Education program is a valuable adjunct in strengthening and expanding an endovascular practice and is jointly sponsored by the Endovascular Institute, the Texas Heart Institute of Houston, and Cine-Med, Inc.

A world-renowned surgeon, Cooley has pioneered many techniques used in cardiovascular surgery. He performed the first successful human heart transplant in the United States in 1968. In 1969, he became the first heart surgeon to implant an artificial heart in a man. Cooley founded the Texas Heart Institute in 1962, for which he is now president and surgeon-in-chief. He is also a pioneer in the surgical treatment of aneurysms of the aorta and of carotid artery stenosis.

Cooley is chief of Cardiovascular Surgery at St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital, consultant in Cardiovascular Surgery at Texas Children's Hospital, and a clinical professor of Surgery at the University of Texas Medical School at Houston. His numerous honors and awards include the Medal of Freedom, the nation's highest civilian award, the Rene Leriche Prize, the highest honor of the International Surgical Society, and the National Medal of Technology. He is the author or co-author of more than 1,300 scientific articles and 12 books.

Drs. Zvonimir Krajcer and Gerald Dorros will return to co-chair the Endovascular Summit. Also joining the faculty are prominent endovascular experts Drs. Mark Bates, Tony Das, Paul Jones, Marcus Howell, Sriram Iyer, Michael Mawad, Stephen Ramee, Gary Roubin, Claudio Schonholz, Richard Smalling, Neil Strickman, and Rodney White.

Included in the Summit agenda will be presentations of leading-edge technical innovations and reviews of informative patient cases, with special emphasis on performing complex endovascular procedures and managing complications.

To learn more, visit the program Web site online at http://www.endovascularsummit.com or call toll-free at 1-888-508-8554.

Endovascular Institute

CONTACT: Mary Zimnik, Director of Communications of the EndovascularInstitute, +1-301-685-3291, or mary@endovascular-institute.com

Back to news