DMAA Announces 2004-2005 Slate Of New Officers And Board Members

WASHINGTON, Nov. 8 /PRNewswire/ -- A new slate of officers and Board members were confirmed by DMAA members at its annual business meeting held in conjunction with its 6th Annual DMAA Disease Management Leadership Forum.

New officers elected by the membership for the 2004-2005 term include: President: Christobel Selecky, Executive Chairman, LifeMasters Supported SelfCare, Inc. President-Elect: William C. Popik, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Aetna, Inc. Past President: Samuel Nussbaum, MD, Executive Vice President & Chief Medical Officer, Anthem Treasurer: Jaan Sidorov, MD, FACP, CMCE, Medical Director, Care Coordination, Geisinger Health Plan Secretary: Sue Jennings, PhD, Senior Director, Pfizer Health Solutions Chair - Quality & Research Committee: Donald E. Fetterolf, MD, MBA, Vice President, Senior Medical Director, Highmark, Inc. Chair - Government Affairs Committee: Sandeep Wadhwa, MD, MBA, Vice President, Sales, Marketing & Account Management

Christobel Selecky also served as the 2002-2004 Chair of Government Affairs where she helped engineer DMAA's successful advocacy program for HIPAA and the Medicare Modernization Act, both important/critical milestones for the disease management community.

Ms. Selecky served as Program Chair for the 6th Annual Disease Management Leadership Forum [DMLF], which once again had record attendance for the sixth year in a row. In addition to assuming leadership of the DMAA, Ms. Selecky received recognition at the 2004 DMLF Awards Banquet as a recipient of DMAA's Recognizing Excellence Award for Individual Leadership in DM. Her organization, LifeMasters Supported SelfCare, Inc. was also recognized this year as the recipient of the "Best Comprehensive DM Organization."

In addition to the new officers, eight [8] new board members were elected to three-year terms.

Jan Berger, MD, MJ, Senior, Vice President/Chief Clinical Officer, Caremark Rx Inc. Jack Mahoney, MD, Corporate Medical Director, Pitney-Bowes, Inc. Ken McDonough, MD, Medical Director, AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals Parker H. Petit, Chairman & CEO, Matria Healthcare, Inc. Susan B. Riley, Chief Executive Officer, AirLogix, Inc. Alex R. Rodriguez, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Magellan Health Services John Rother, Director of Policies & Strategies, AARP Janet S. Wright, MD, Chair, Disease Management Committee, American College of Cardiology

"The Association has been very fortunate in attracting officers and Board members of such high quality", said DMAA Executive Director Warren Todd. "The rapid growth of the association and our ability to influence important national health policies is clearly related to the high caliber and hard work of our volunteer officers and Board members."

DMAA membership now includes all the major national health plans in the United States.

The Board of Directors was also expanded from 24 to 30 members in 2004.

Based in Washington, D.C., the Disease Management Association of America is a non-profit, voluntary membership organization, founded in March of 1999, which represents all aspects of the disease management community. For more information, please visit

(Logo: )

Photo: Archive: Photo Desk, photodesk@prnewswire.comDisease Management Association of America

CONTACT: Warren Todd of the Disease Management Association of America,+1-202-861-1491, or

Back to news