From The Gridiron To The State House To Cable Television: Champions In Fight Against Mental Illness To Be Honored By Eli Lilly and Company

INDIANAPOLIS, Nov. 8 /PRNewswire-FirstCall/ -- Eli Lilly and Company announced Friday the winners of the 2005 Reintegration Awards, which include individuals who have made a difference in the NFL, in the state of Texas and to cable television viewers by helping to reduce the stigma of mental illness. Three honorary winners along with 19 other winners will be acknowledged at a ceremony in Washington, DC.

"Lilly is pleased to recognize the extraordinary efforts of all of the award recipients and to celebrate the teamwork and inspiration of those who have made remarkable progress in overcoming the challenges associated with severe mental illness," said Deirdre Connelly, president of Lilly USA, Eli Lilly and Company. "Lilly is committed to the recovery of people with mental illness, and we want to acknowledge the noble efforts of this year's award winners who have helped many people with mental illness to reach their full potential and live happier and healthier lives."

The Reintegration Awards program underscores the powerful and collaborative roles of consumer involvement, treatment team support and access to effective medication in helping people move their lives forward. The awards honor individuals or groups who help and support people living with severe mental illness, the achievements of people living with severe mental illness who offer hope to others facing similar challenges, and local and national efforts to raise awareness for mental illness.

"These awards highlight the importance of complementary recovery-oriented approaches, including efforts to help individuals find and keep jobs, have comfortable places to call home and sustain meaningful relationships with friends and family," said Ralph Aquila, M.D., director of residential community services at St. Luke's/Roosevelt Hospital Center and chair of the committee of judges responsible for selecting award recipients.

Honorary Winners

* Public Eye Honorary Award will be given to former star running back Calvin Hill who has been the driving force in helping National Football League players with serious mental illness get the support they need. Hill has not only helped the Dallas Cowboys create an in-house program for players with conditions such as bipolar disorder, but he has also helped foster an environment in which mental health concerns are addressed with an informed understanding.

Hill works as a consultant to Mental Health Management, Inc. of McLean, Virginia, a company specializing in the treatment of psychiatric problems and chemical abuse.

* U.S. State Representative Garnet Coleman (Texas) will be honored with the Government Honorary Award for his role in expanding and improving mental health services in Texas. This year he authored a bill to require that all law enforcement officers receive crisis-intervention training for dealing with persons with mental illness and introduced legislation to establish a program to ensure that individuals with mental illness who are caught up in the criminal justice system have access to mental health treatment. Rep. Coleman also introduced a comprehensive mental health parity bill that would require the same degree of insurance coverage for mental illnesses as is currently provided for other illnesses.

* The Media Honorary Award will be presented to HBO for raising awareness of mental illness through innovative programming, as well as working behind- the-scenes to dispel stigma and provide employment opportunities to individuals living with these illnesses. HBO has been a long-time supporter of Fountain House, the first site to incorporate a "clubhouse" model based on the belief that members are partners in their own recovery, rather than passive recipients of treatment. Since 1990, the media company has also served as a transitional employment partner providing entry-level positions and on-the-job support to individuals reintegrating into the workforce. Additionally, the company has worked closely with its insurance provider to ensure that its employees have easy and affordable access to mental health treatment when needed.

Accepting the award on behalf of HBO is Eames Yates, producer of award- winning HBO original documentaries on mental illness including "Suicide, Dead Blue: Surviving Depression and Panic." Yates, who lost his own brother to suicide, is passionate about shedding light on issues of mental illness that have for too long been in the dark.

Consumer and Treatment Team Winners

A Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Dennis McCrory, a Boston child psychiatrist who has spent more than 30 years bringing his "vision of recovery" to his own practice and to his various roles as consultant, program developer, teacher, lecturer, author and advocate.

While at South Shore Mental Health Center in Quincy, MA, Dr. McCrory learned that a strength-based, step-wise treatment/rehabilitation approach to services for children and adults led to more hopeful outcomes than he had learned to expect in his training.

Dr. McCrory currently serves as a statewide psychiatric consultant for the Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission and also co-chairs Friends: Voices of Rehabilitation and Recovery. He is a member of the Fountain House Council for Education, Training and Advocacy and sits on the NAMI Massachusetts Board of Directors and a number of other committees and task forces.

This year's recipients of the Artistic Contribution, Mentorship, and Inspiration Awards for individuals living with mental illness are, respectively, Isaac Brown, a self-taught artist and peer support specialist/trainer with The Mental Health Empowerment Project whose art and advocacy work have contributed greatly to the mental health community; Rosalyn Bell, a peer mentor from Phoenix who has courageously worked to overcome her personal struggle with schizophrenia and now serves as a role model for people working toward their own recovery from mental illness; and Alex Myhaver, a peer outreach coordinator from Portland who fully embraced his recovery from schizophrenia and today offers hope and inspiration to others.

Other honorees include: Brushes With Life: Art, Artists, and Mental Illness, Chapel Hill, NC (Advocacy award); Action Coalition to Ensure Stability, Indianapolis, IN (Clinical Medicine award); Home Developments Group, Kent, OH (Home Sweet Home award); Employment Works, Grants Pass, OR (On the Job award); The Thresholds Community Scholar Program, Chicago, IL (Keep Learning award); and Bridgehaven, Inc., Louisville, KY (Social Support award).

About the Reintegration Awards

Since 1997, the Reintegration Awards program has recognized individuals, groups and initiatives that improve the lives of people with mental illness. An independent panel of mental health professionals and consumers determines the award recipients. First-place winners receive a $5,000 cash contribution and second-place winners receive a $2,500 cash contribution to their respective institutions to further the success of their programs. A contribution of $5,000 will be made to the mental health facility or advocacy program of choice for each honorary winner.

Lilly , a leading innovation-driven corporation, is developing a growing portfolio of first-in-class and best-in-class pharmaceutical products by applying the latest research from its own worldwide laboratories and from collaborations with eminent scientific organizations. Headquartered in Indianapolis, Ind., Lilly provides answers -- through medicines and information -- for some of the world's most urgent medical needs. Additional information about Lilly is available at .


(Logo: )

Photo: NewsCom: Photo Desk, photodesk@prnewswire.comEli Lilly and Company

CONTACT: Carole Puls of Eli Lilly and Company, +1-317-277-1421; orJennifer Horowitz of GCI Group, +1-212-537-8126

Back to news