American Diabetes Association Announces New National Officers And Board Members

ALEXANDRIA, Va., Jan. 12, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American Diabetes Association, the nation's largest and leading voluntary health organization leading the fight to Stop Diabetes®, is pleased to announce its officers and Board of Directors members for 2016. 

American Diabetes Association

"I am so pleased to announce our 2016 Board lineup. The Association is positioned for increased success in furthering our mission under this unique group of leaders," said Kevin L. Hagan, Chief Executive Officer. "This board is comprised of visionary thinkers and strong decision makers, exemplifying the direction I want the Association to continue toward. With our strong counsel I believe 2016 will be a year of great strides."

The 2016 Board of Directors includes: 

Robin Richardson, Portland, Ore. (Chair of the Board)
Richardson is Senior Vice President of Moda Health, where he is the senior executive responsible for the company's Integrated Health Systems, Pharmacy, Legislative, Medicare, and Medicaid programs as well as its Human Resources and Facilities departments.

Margaret (Maggie) Powers, PhD, RD, CDE, Minneapolis (President, Health Care & Education)
Powers conducts research and has a clinical practice as a registered dietitian and diabetes educator at the International Diabetes Center at Park Nicollet in Minneapolis. Her research focuses on improving diabetes outcomes including factors that affect the clinical, psychosocial and behavioral aspects of diabetes.

Desmond Schatz, MD, Gainesville, Fla. (President, Medicine & Science)
Schatz is the Medical Director of the Diabetes Center, Professor and Associate Chairman of Pediatrics and Director of the Clinic Research Center at the University of Florida.

Lorrie Welker Liang, Sarasota, Fla. (Secretary/Treasurer)
Liang is Chief Operating Officer of Sarasota Memorial Health Care System. Prior to this appointment she served as Vice President of Sinai Hospital of Baltimore, a member of the Lifebridge Health System.

Jackie Boucher, MS, RD, LD, CDE, Minneapolis
Boucher is President of Children's HeartLink in Minneapolis. In this position she leads an organization focused on training doctors and nurses in underserved parts of the world to diagnose and treat children with heart disease, ensuring they receive quality care.

Martha Clark, MBA, Lafayette, Ca.
Clark is a retired senior-level executive with experience spanning the strategy consulting, asset management and banking industries. Most recently, she was part of the senior leadership team that grew a model-driven global equity investor for large institutions and then managed it through the financial crisis.

David A. DeMarco, PhD, Wakefield, R.I. (Chair of the Board-Elect)
DeMarco is a principal at Ernst & Young (EY) with more than 25 years of experience in strategy, innovation and management consulting. He currently serves as the Northeast Region Life Sciences Market Segment leader, where he oversees the full range of audit, tax, transaction and advisory services for the firm's pharmaceutical, biotech and medtech practice within the region.

Robert H. Eckel, MD, Aurora, Colo.
Eckel is a Distinguished Alumnus of the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine and currently the Charles A. Boettcher II Endowed Chair in Atherosclerosis. He is also a Professor of Medicine with appointments in the Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Diabetes and the Division of Cardiology, and Professor of Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Colorado School of Medicine Anschutz Medical Campus, and Director of the Lipid Clinic at the University of Colorado Hospital.

David Herrick, MBA, New York
Herrick is President, U.S., Cohn & Wolfe, one of the world's largest public relations and marketing communications companies with offices in 52 countries. He oversees client service and operations across the firm's New York, Austin, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Atlanta offices.

Felicia Hill-Briggs, PhD, ABPP, Baltimore
Hill-Briggs is Professor of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine, Director, Behavior and Cognition Sub-Core, Healthcare and Population Science, Baltimore Diabetes Research Center, and Senior Director, Population Health Research and Development, The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology, and Clinical Research.

Jeffrey Himmel, MS, Miami Beach, Fla.
Himmel is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Himmel Group, Himmel Pharmaceuticals and Himmel Media where he markets consumer health care brands, over-the-counter pharmaceuticals, and health and nutrition products.

Brenda Montgomery, RN, MSHS, CDE, Bellevue, Wash. (President-Elect, Health Care & Education)
Montgomery is a Clinical Science Liaison for AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals where she works with primary care providers to help with the treatment of diabetes and to ensure that they are up-to-date on standards of care, research and science.

Alvin C. Powers, MD, Nashville, Tenn., (President-Elect, Medicine & Science)
Powers is the Joe C. Davis Chair in Biologic Science and Professor of Medicine, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics at Vanderbilt University. He is also the Director of the Vanderbilt Diabetes Center, Chief of the Vanderbilt Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism, and the Director of the Vanderbilt Diabetes Research and Training Center.

Jane Reusch, MD, Denver
Reusch is a Professor of Medicine, Biochemistry and Bioengineering and the Associate Director of the Center for Women's Health Research at the University of Colorado School of Medicine at the Anshultz Medical Campus. She is also the Director of the VA Diabetes Team at the Denver VA Medical Center.

Calvin Schmidt, MBA, Raritan, N.J.
Schmidt is President, Cardiovascular & Metabolism, Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Inc., part of the Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson, where he leads the growth of a business that is making a significant difference for patients suffering from cardiovascular and metabolic diseases.

Catherine Squires, CFRE, Chicago
Squires is President and CEO, NIU Foundation and Vice President for University Advancement at Northern Illinois University, her undergraduate alma mater, where she is responsible for leading all advancement and alumni activities as well as managing the endowment of one of Illinois' largest universities.

Umesh Verma, Houston (Secretary/Treasurer-Elect)
Verma is the Chief Executive Officer of BLUE LANCE, Inc., a global provider of cybersecurity governance solutions that help companies save time and money with information security risk assessments, auditing and compliance automation.

Alan L. Yatvin, JD, Philadelphia
Yatvin is Managing Partner of the Philadelphia firm of Popper & Yatvin, where he concentrates his practice on police misconduct civil rights litigation, criminal defense in state and federal court and representation of students with special needs, focusing on the rights and needs of those living with diabetes.

The American Diabetes Association is leading the fight to Stop Diabetes and its deadly consequences and fighting for those affected by diabetes. The Association funds research to prevent, cure and manage diabetes; delivers services to hundreds of communities; provides objective and credible information; and gives voice to those denied their rights because of diabetes. Since 1940, our mission has been to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes. For more information please call the American Diabetes Association at 1-800-DIABETES (800-342-2383) or visit Information from both these sources is available in English and Spanish.

Logo -


To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:

SOURCE American Diabetes Association

Back to news