Galien Foundation Announces 2016 Prix Galien USA Nominees In "Best Biotechnology Product," "Best Pharmaceutical Product," And "Best Medical Technology" Categories

NEW YORK, July 27, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Galien Foundation announced today the 2016 10th Annual Prix Galien USA Award Nominees. The Prix Galien Award is among the health-innovation industry's most prized honors, recognizing biomedical and technology product achievement associated with improving the human condition.  Nominated cutting-edge discoveries hail from laboratories that encompass the world's most innovative biopharma and medical technology companies focusing on major public-health priorities. 

To qualify, each candidate must be U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved for market within the last five years and demonstrate tremendous potential to impact human health.  Sales data are not considered by the nominating committee in their award nominee selection; only science and health impact.

"Nominees selected represent the aspirations of biopharmaceutical and medical technology sector scientists to provide for societal health needs," said P. Roy Vagelos, chairman, Prix Galien USA Awards Committee, and prior recipient of the Pro Bono Humanum Award. "The Prix Galien acknowledges innovators whose life-impacting work can save lives and are a platform for future innovation." 

The nominees include in-market products evaluated in the following categories: Best Biotechnology Product 13 nominees; Best Pharmaceutical Product 22 nominees, and Best Medical Technology 11 nominees.

Prix Galien USA 2016 Award Nominees:

Best Biotechnology Product (Nominees)

1.       KANUMA ® (sebelipase alfa)

Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

2.       STRENSIQ®  (asfotase alfa) 

Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

3.       IMLYGIC® (talimogene laherparepvec) 

Amgen Inc.

4.       REPATHA® (evolocumab) 

Amgen Inc.

5.       PRAXBIND® (idarucizumab) 

Boehringer Ingelheim

6.       CYRAMZA® (ramucirumab) 

Eli Lilly and Company

7.       TRULICITY® (dulaglutide) 

Eli Lilly and Company

8.       NUCALA® (mepolizumab) 

GlaxoSmithKline plc

9.       DARZALEX® (daratumumab) 

Janssen Biotech, Inc.     

10.     GARDASIL®9 (HPV 9-valent Vaccine, Recombinant) 

Merck & Co., Inc.

11.     COSENTYX® (secukinumab) 

Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation

12.     PRALUENT® (alirocumab) 

Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc./Sanofi

13.     NATPARA®  (parathyroid hormone) 

Shire-NPS Pharmaceuticals, Inc.


Best Pharmaceutical Product (Nominees)

1.       DUOPATM (carbidopa/levodopa) 

AbbVie Inc.

2.       TECHNIVIETM (ombitasvir/paritaprevir/ritonavir) 

AbbVie Inc.

3.       UPTRAVI® (selexipag) 

Actelion Pharmaceuticals US, Inc./Nippon Shinyaku Co., Ltd.

4.       KYBELLA® (deoxycholic acid) 

Allergan, Inc.

5.       DALVANCE® (dalbavancin) 

Allergan, Inc.

6.       VIBERZITM (eluxadoline) 

Allergan, Inc.

7.       CRESEMBA® (isavuconazonium sulfate) 


8.       TAGRISSOTM (osimertinib) 


9.       OFEV® (nintedanib) 

Boehringer Ingelheim

10.     DAKLINZATM (daclatasvir) 

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

11.     BELVIQ® (lorcaserin HCI) 

Arena Pharmaceuticals, Inc. & Eisai Inc.

12.     HALAVEN® (eribulin mesylate) 

Eisai Inc.

13.     LENVIMA (lenvatinib) 

Eisai Inc.

14.     ALECENSATM (alectinib) 

Genentech, a Member of the Roche Group

15.     AKYNZEO® (netupitant/palonosetron) 

Helsinn Group

16.     VIVLODEX® (SoluMatrix® meloxicam) 

Iroko Pharmaceuticals, LLC

17.     YONDELIS® (trabectedin) 

Janssen Biotech, Inc.

18.     BRIDION® (sugammadex) 

Merck & Co., Inc.  

19.     REXULTI® (brexpiprazole) 

Otsuka Pharmaceutical Company, Ltd./ H. Lundbeck A/S

20.     IBRANCE® (palbociclib) 

Pfizer Inc.

21.     XELJANZ® (tofacitinib citrate) 

Pfizer Inc.

22.     NINLARO® (ixazomib) 

Takeda Pharmaceuticals International Co.  

"Medical technology is a vital addition to the Prix Galien community," notes Bruno Cohen, chairman of the Galien Foundation.  "From cardiovascular disease to imaging to surgical advances and quality of life improvement, technology is playing a larger role in extending quality life.  Prix Galien is proud to evaluate these advances for their health impact."

Best Medical Technology (Nominees)

1.       SpyGlass DS Direct Visualization System 

Boston Scientific Corporation                                    

2.       WATCHMAN Left Atrial Appendage Closure Device 

Boston Scientific Corporation

3.       Koning Breast CT (CBCT 1000) 

Koning Corporation

4.       CardioMEMS HF System 

St. Jude Medical

5.       VITEK® MS 


6.       Precision Spectra Spinal Cord Stimulation (SCS) System 

Boston Scientific Corporation

7.       SAPIEN 3 Transcatheter Aortic Heart Valve 

Edwards Lifesciences Corporation

8.       Cologuard® 

Exact Sciences Corporation


Johnson & Johnson/Biosense Webster

10.     ATTUNE® Knee System 

Johnson & Johnson/DePuy Synthes Companies

11.     EVARREST® Fibrin Sealant Patch 

Johnson & Johnson/Ethicon

The Prix Galien USA Committee is comprised of nine renowned leaders from the biomedical industry and academia, including four Nobel Laureates, responsible for evaluating nominees. Winners will be announced during the Prix Galien USA Awards Ceremony on October 27, 2016, at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City.  Registration to attend the 2016 Prix Galien USA Awards Ceremony can be accessed here.

Galien Awards Committee 2016

Pr Richard Axel, M.D., Nobel Laureate, Co-director, the Kavli Institute for Brain Science, Columbia University Medical Center, New York

Pr Michael S. Brown, M.D., Nobel Laureate, Professor of Molecular Genetics and Internal Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas

Pr Laurie Glimcher , M.D., CEO and President, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Pr Joseph Goldstein, M.D., Nobel Laureate, Professor of Molecular Genetics and Internal Medicine, UT, Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas

Pr Robert S. Langer, M.D., David H. Koch Institute Professor at MIT

Pr Paul A. Marks, M.D., Laboratory Head  of Cell Biology Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York , President, Emeritus, MSKCC

Pr Bengt Samuelsson, M.D., Ph.D., Nobel Laureate, Former President of Karolinska Institute and Former Chairman of the Nobel Foundation

Pr Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Ph.D., President and Professor Laboratory of Brain Development and Repair, The Rockefeller University, New York

Pr Roy Vagelos, M.D., Chairman, Prix Galien Committee, Chairman of Regeneron Pharmaceuticals and Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Merck & Co., Inc.

About the Galien Foundation    

The Galien Foundation fosters, recognizes and rewards excellence in scientific innovation to improve the state of human health. Our vision is to be the catalyst for the development of the next generation of innovative treatment and technologies that will impact human health and save lives.

The Foundation oversees and directs activities in the USA for the Prix Galien, an international award that recognizes outstanding achievements in improving the human condition through the development of innovative therapies. The Prix Galien was created in France in 1970 in honor of Galen, the father of medical science and modern pharmacology. Worldwide, the Prix Galien is regarded as the equivalent of the Nobel Prize in biopharmaceutical and medical technology research.

The Galien Foundation mourns the loss of its Honorary Member, Pr Elie Wiesel, Peace Nobel Laureate, Boston University Professor Emeritus, who passed away on July 2, 2016.

For more information, visit

Galien Foundation Media Contacts:     
Lee Davies/Biopharmaceutical Categories     

Kristen Berry/Medical Technology Category     
Finn Partners    
M: 774-573-0455                                        

To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:

SOURCE The Galien Foundation

Back to news