Print

New WCRI Webinar: How Lump-Sum Settlements Influence Return to Work  
11/6/2012 2:11:56 PM

CAMBRIDGE, MA — Nov. 6, 2012 — An ongoing question for many policymakers and other stakeholders is whether lump-sum settlements in workers’ compensation cases help or hurt return to work for injured workers. Join the Workers Compensation Research Institute’s (WCRI) Bogdan Savych on Tuesday, Nov. 27, 2012 at 1pm ET (12pm CT, 11am MT, 10am PT) for a one-hour discussion on this very important issue.

“This is an important discussion because we need to find out whether settlements discourage those injured workers who want to return to work from doing so, or assist them in closing this chapter of their life and moving on with their careers,” says Bogdan Savych, author and public policy analyst at WCRI. “This webinar will help policymakers and other stakeholders understand how workers respond to receiving a lump-sum settlement.”

Questions addressed:

• How do settlements change the employment status of injured workers?

• How many injured workers who were employed at the time of the settlement stopped working shortly after the receipt of a lump sum?

• How many injured workers who were not employed at the time of the lump sum were able to find employment? • How many workers exited employment in anticipation of the settlement?

• Does response to the settlement differ with worker and/or claim characteristics?

REGISTER NOW by clicking on the following link: http://www.wcrinet.org/11.27.12_webbriefing_reg.html. Webinars are $35 for WCRI Members, $70 for Non-Members, and free for members of the press, legislators and their staff, as well as state public officials who make policy decisions regarding workers compensation. Attendance is limited to 100 people and all attendees receive a free copy of the slides. For those unable to attend the webinar on the day it’s presented, a recorded copy will be made available for purchase.

This webinar will draw from WCRI’s study, Return to Work after a Lump-Sum Settlement, which followed the experience of 2,138 workers who were injured in Michigan in 2004 and later received a lump-sum settlement. WCRI followed the employment experience of these workers up through 2008.

About WCRI:

The Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI) is an independent, not-for-profit research organization based in Cambridge, MA. WCRI is recognized as a leader in providing objective, credible, and high-quality information about public policy issues involving workers' compensation systems. WCRI's members include employers; insurers; governmental entities; managed care companies; health care providers; insurance regulators; state labor organizations; and state administrative agencies in the U.S., Canada, Australia and New Zealand.


//-->