News | News By Subject | News by Disease News By Date | Search News
Get Our FREE
Industry eNewsletter

The Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Announces Inaugural Lurie Prize to be Given to a Promising Scientist in Biomedical Research

6/6/2012 11:32:32 AM

BETHESDA, MD (June 4, 2012) – The Foundation for the National Institutes of Health (FNIH) is accepting nominations [link here] for the first Lurie Prize in the Biomedical Sciences, an annual award recognizing outstanding achievement by a young scientist in biomedical research.

The deadline for nominations is August 15, 2012, 1:00 pm Eastern Time.

The prize amount is $100,000 and is made possible by a generous gift from Ann Lurie, FNIH Board Member, distinguished philanthropist, and President of the Ann and Robert H. Lurie Foundation.

“I am thrilled to offer this prize,” says Lurie. “My hope is that shining a spotlight on the Lurie Prize recipient’s accomplishments will energize younger generations of researchers to tackle complex biomedical challenges with renewed passion and excellence.”

The nomination criteria are broad:

• No self-nominations are allowed

• Nominator must be a member of an accredited educational and/or scientific institution

• Candidate must be 52 or younger on April 12, 2013

• All nomination materials must be in English

Nominations ( must include the following information:

• The name and full contact information on the nominator (name, professional title, institutional affiliation, mailing address, telephone number, email address)

• The name and full contact information of the candidate (name, professional title, institutional affiliation, mailing address, telephone number, email address)

• A 50 word citation of the basis for nomination

• A 250 word description of the candidate’s contributions

• A curriculum vitae of the candidate that includes no more than 10 citations of publications on which the nomination is based

The Awardee will be selected by a highly qualified Lurie Prize jury. The jury is chaired by Solomon H. Snyder, MD, FNIH Board Member and Distinguished Service Professor of Neuroscience, Pharmacology & Psychiatry, The Solomon H. Snyder Department of Neuroscience, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Additional members of the jury are: Lewis C. Cantley, PhD, Department of Systems Biology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center; Ronald M. Evans, PhD, March of Dimes Chair in Molecular and Developmental Biology, Gene Expression Laboratory, Salk Institute for Biological Studies; Richard Goodman, MD, PhD, Director, Vollum Institute, Oregon Health & Science University; Carl Nathan, MD, Professor of Medicine, Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Weill Cornell Medical College; and Susan S. Taylor, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Department of Pharmacology, University of California, San Diego.

“The Lurie Prize provides a unique opportunity to reward a young biomedical scientist for superlative achievement,” according to Dr. Snyder. “Much of biomedical research is conducted quietly in labs and medical centers; with this prize we can bring much-deserved public recognition to the recipient’s commitment, innovation, and contribution to improving human health.”

About the Foundation for the NIH

Established by the United States Congress to support the mission of the NIH – improving health through scientific discovery in the search for cure – the Foundation for the NIH is a leader in identifying and addressing complex scientific and health issues. The Foundation is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) charitable organization that raises private-sector funds for a broad portfolio of unique programs that complement and enhance the NIH priorities and activities. For additional information about the Foundation for the NIH, visit

Read at

comments powered by Disqus